Is Alessandro Michele the right person to be Creative Director of Gucci? A conspiracy against Giannini, a betrayal from her right hand & a positive change for the brand

mgluxurynews Gucci Sumer Spring 2015 Ad Campaign

Spring Summer 2015 Cruise Ad campaign

Hello readers! The world is going crazy about Alessandro Michele’s appointment as the new creative director of Gucci. Probably, 80% of the fashion reporters have already written a very nice articles full of professional arguments about the issue and despite I can’t compete with them, I want to give my (very personal) opinion about this announcement.

I ask myself, why did Frida Giannini leave? She was so Gucci… But well, maybe that was the problem of the company. It could be that most of Kering‘s high sphere wanted to improve profitability and they saw in Giannini’s departure not just a media BOOM, but also a possible refreshment of the brand with a new creative director.

mgluxurynews Gucci Frida Giannini and Patrizio di Marco

Frida Giannini & Patrizio di Marco

Here is when they start looking for the creepiest, most hipster (with long beard included) and not known guy to replace Giannini. It is not that I have something against Michele, it’s just that I’m having something against the idea of fashion beeing suddenly disruptive and so modern that isn’t even beautiful anymore. It’s possible that this guy surprises us, and I look forward to it.

As I can recall, he joined Gucci in 2002 and in 2011 he entered Giannini’s team for the leather goods, jewelry, home clothing and shoes divisions, and in 2014 he became creative director of Gucci’s porcelain brand, Richard Ginori. They say that he was like her right hand, so my question is if he was also involved in the conspiracy against her beloved boss, or if he is just a poor little lamb played by Gucci and Kering’s Top Management.

mgluxurynews Gucci Alessandro MicheleItaly Fashion Gucci mgluxurynews Gucci Alessandro Michele last men showmgluxurynews Gucci Men's Show Fall Winter 2015 Alessandro Michele

Pictures of Gucci's Men Fall-Winter 2015 Show by Alessandro Michele

It’s in your hands to decide, but I think my readers that this smells like a story.

xxx M

4 thoughts on “Is Alessandro Michele the right person to be Creative Director of Gucci? A conspiracy against Giannini, a betrayal from her right hand & a positive change for the brand

  1. I love this article and I admire your strength of opinion – i am a great fan of Frida’s work! But the truth is – we never really know what has happened behind the scenes. In Fashion, change is to be embraced. As a fan of the Gucci brand – I’m happy to cast my judgement upon the coming collections!

    Your blog is wonderful – i love your voice and language.

    Zx

    1. Thank you very much for the compliment! I’m a real fan of you and your work, and receiving a message like this makes me have some faith in my blog 😀
      I’m very, very grateful!

  2. I’m also a huge fan of Frida and am very interested to hear why she has stepped down. Stumbled across your blog and love it!

    I’ve recently relaunched my website CH1K.com and would love if you could stop by and check it out! Let me know what you think xx

    Helen xx
    http://CH1K.com

Leave a Reply

